Debut Album: Harriet Brown – Contact

:: Yeeessss!


Ascending from Los Angeles by way of the Bay Area, artist, writer and producer Harriet Brown is back to deliver his debut album, Contact, the follow-up to his 2014 EP, New Era. Composed, arranged, co-produced and performed by your very own himself, Contact is a concept album about communication and the contact we purposely, accidentally and inherently struggle to make between friends, lovers and strangers, be them human or otherwise. And when it comes to the live show, Harriet Brown will stun you. It’s an all-in-one package deal with sensual vocals, live loops, groovin’ drum machines, manic guitar lines and thick synths, all at the hands of one being. It’s no secret that this multi-instrumentalist and producer is influenced sonically and ethically by The Artist himself. And If Prince is his king, Sade is his queen, as they reside over an ever expanding court of every genre that falls in between. Harriet Brown’s sound is not what you’d expect from a one man band – sexual and sensitive, ambiguous and androgynous, prepare to be paralyzed by the sounds of Harriet Brown.

Cover Art:

Artist: Harriet Brown
Title of Album: Contact
Release Date: April 21, 2017
Label: Innovative Leisure

Track Listing:
1 Intro
3 Paralyzed
4 Cybernetiplegia
5 Contact
6 Mother
7 Obsession
8 Cryptid
9 Atlantis
10 Outro (Athanasi)
11 In My Head

Follow ‘Harriet Brown’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | SoundCloud | Bandcamp



New Album: Omar S – The Best / Track ‘Ah´Revolution’

:: Thanks for bringin the Funk out Sir.



Artist: Omar S
Title of Album: The Best
Release Date: April 28, 2016
Label: FXHE Records

01. Time MO 1 (Mix by Norm Talley)
02. Ah’Revolution
03. Chama Piru’s
04. Bugging Out feat. Tom Buggs
05. Bitch… I’ll Buy Another One
06. You Silk Suit Wearing MuLaFuuk’ka
07. Smash feat. O B Ignitt and Kyle Hall
08. Take Ya Pik Nik
09. Seen Was Set
10. On Your Way feat. Divinity
11. Heard Chew Single feat. John FM

Follow ‘Amp Fiddler’ on:
Official Website


Debut Album: ESKA – ESKA (2015/04/27) / New Track ‘Rock Of Ages’

:: Timeless!


ESKA is the most talked about, revered singer you’ve never heard of. Prepare to be let in on one of music’s best kept secrets in 2015 when ESKA finally releases her self-titled debut album.
Possessing one of the best and most memorable voices in the UK right now, ESKA weaves together diverse musical elements – hints of folk, soul, psychedelia and electronica and pairs them with stirring lyrics, born from burning passion. ESKA has created something pure and timeless which echoes past traditions while at the same time managing to surprise with its stunning originality.

Her debut self-released EP, was heralded by global independent community Bandcamp in their ‘Best Releases of 2013′.

Having built an inimitable reputation as a writer and performer through collaborations with such legends of the game as Grace Jones, Cinematic Orchestra, Zero 7 and Bobby McFerrin together with performances in some of the world’s most famous venues and festivals, it’s time to discover ESKA’s own unique sound in full force. The self-titled debut album ESKA hosts production credits from cult British electronic artist Matthew Herbert (known for remixing Björk, R.E.M. and Yoko Ono), Louis ‘slipperz’ Hackett and Dave Okumu of The Invisible (previous winners of iTunes ‘Album of the Year’ in the UK.) [Press release]

Cover Art:

Artist: ESKA
Title of Album: ESKA
Release date: April 27, 2015
Label: Earthling Recordings

1 This Is How a Garden Grows
2 Gatekeeper
3 Rock of Ages
4 Boundaries
5 She’s in the Flowers
6 Shades of Blue
7 Heroes & Villains
8 To Be Remembered
9 Dear Evelyn
10 So Long Eddy
Follow ‘ESKA’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud
More ‘ESKA’ on Music Pickings:
2013, Nov 15  – Debut EP: Gatekeeper (2013/11/18)

Debut Album: Ephemerals – Nothin Is Easy / Single ‘Easy Ain’t Nothin’

:: Watch out for Ephemerals!


Ephemerals are a London based soul family featuring an allstar cast of musicians. Founded by Hillman Mondegreen, writer-producer and founder member for Hannah Williams and The Tastemakers, he felt instantly that Franglo-American singer Wolfgang Valbrun was the perfect voice to deliver a debut album that is fresh and soulful and will command some serious attention. Wolf, originally from New York but who has been living in Paris since the age of 14, only began singing in public three years ago, but has quickly established himself as a continental star with his band Marvellous. Next is Damian, who also plays trumpet for Kalakuta Millionaires and is in Hillman’s afrobeat supergroup Keke Mokoro. Then Char, who plays baritone sax for Dakhla, a band with a unique afrobeat/gypsy styling. Also James, who plays organ for Hannah Williams, and Jimi Needles, who has been Hillman’s drummer of choice since they met at university in 2008. Rob Jones was the final piece of the puzzle, recommended to Hillman by WahWah45’s boss Dom Servini. He played every instrument on the epic Gene Dudley Group album and was brought in to play bass with his trademark tone and casual style.

The first full band rehearsal was on the first day of recording. Hillman taught the band song by song and within 3 days, the 7-piece had recorded the album live to analogue tape at The Cowshed in North London. A short UK tour ensued in the following weeks and the live Ephemerals band was born from the same musicians who had recorded in that great session. It was as much their personality as their talent that allowed the band to rehearse and record in such swift fashion.

Almost as captivating as how the record was made, is the story of how it caught the attention of the Jalapeno label. A radical business strategy from Mondegreen Records, whose first solo release back in 2010 secured the signing of HWT to Record Kicks and then Sony, saw the company taking a free-to-download approach.
“The philosophy was that anyone who saw the video or visits our Facebook/ Bandcamp/ Soundcloud/ Twitter pages should be able to download the full album in three clicks or less,” says Mondegreen. “Another positive that comes from this method is that there is no worth in bootlegging the record, so we are denying the revenue that illegal download sites can make from hosting a copy.
“The idea is that there is little to be made from recorded music anyway, so the attempt is to broaden the fan base and tour relentlessly, making up for the loss of sales profit with the money gained from the larger fanbase. After all, you can’t bootleg a live performance. We also approached several vinyl only labels to release 7”’s and put out two singles with Mocambo in Germany and Colemine in Ohio USA.”

The album features heavy grooves and slick production, with Wolf’s distinctive howl on top. [Press release]

Cover Art:

Artist: Ephemerals
Title of Album: Nothin Is Easy
Release Date: September 01, 2014
Label: Jalapeno Records

1 Things, Pt. 1
2 You Made Us Change
3 Call It What You Want
4 Easy Ain’t Nothin
5 Loving Guaranteed
6 The Oligarch
7 Six Days a Week
8 I’m Your Man
9 Brixton Girls
10 Life Is Good


Follow ‘Ephemerals’ on: 
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud