Debut Album: Cancer – Totem / New Track ‘Die One More Time’

:: Beautiful work.

Cancer is a new duo consisting of When Saints Go Machine lead singer and producer Nikolaj Manuel Vonsild and Chorus Grant lead singer and guitarist Kristian Finne Kristensen. The two songwriters and friends have been working on creating a new and unique musical universe for several years. The band is preparing an international release of the beautiful minialbum Ragazzi later this year.

”Same Color as Digital Photography” is the first single from the band. Nikolaj Manuel Vonsild is known for his distinctive, beautiful and soulful vocals from Danish electronic outfit When Saints Go Machine. Kristian Finne Kristensen is known for his warm vocals and analogue sound from guitars, bass and drums in Chorus Grant. With Cancer both musicians show yet another side of their talent. The songs on Ragazzi are both radical and beautiful future ballads oozing with presence, a restless calm and out-of-this-world melodiousness which cuts through the gamut of emotions with a deeply melancholic undercurrent.

Ragazzi consists of 6 songs lasting well over 30 minutes. Nis Bysted, who has also worked with bands like, Iceage, Choir of Young Believers & his own band Thulebasen, produced the record alongside Nikolaj & Kristian. The richness of sound found in Ragazzi arises from the energy and subtle ferocity created in recording live instruments, as well as a great wealth of detail and poetic meticulousness in the lyrics. Nikolaj & Kristian have written 6 songs that lyrically take place in the mind’s peripheral areas; where everything is at stake. The phonetics of the lyrics have shaped the music just as much as the other way around. Cancer played their first concert on the prestigious Danish film festival cph:dox in November 2012 and have since played only a handful of carefully chosen shows – each time leaving the audience out of breath with excitement. When playing live Cancer is a 4-man band (vocals, guitar, bass, drums and samples). In their first live outing of 2014, Cancer will be playing at Roskilde Festival in July, performing the entirety of Ragazzi as well as a selection of new material. [Press release via Cancer]

Cover Art:

Artist: Cancer
Title of Album: Totem
Release Date: January 27, 2017
Label: Tambourhinoceros

Track Listing:
1 Esca
2 Explicit Die One More Time
3 Honey
4 Testa Nera Prima
5 Errors
6 Tears
7 Mr. Exorcist
8 Tak for Nu
9 Savage
10 Animals
11 This Is Where It Hurts

Follow ‘Cancer’ on:
Official Website | FacebookSoundCloud



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s