New Album: C Duncan – The Midnight Sun (2016/10/02) / Track ‘Wanted To Want It Too’

:: So goddamn beautiful!


Glasgow’s prodigious talent C Duncan released his critically acclaimed and Mercury Prize nominated debut album Architect earlier this year (last summer in the UK.) Now, his follow-up The Midnight Sun sees the bedroom producer return with a more expansive and experimental second offering, blending electronic elements and sweeping synth sounds with his signature layered vocals and dreamy instrumentation.

The album borrows its name from a Twilight Zone episode aired in 1961, in which the Earth’s orbit has been perturbed, causing it to fall slowly towards the sun. “’The Midnight Sun’ is one of my favorite episodes,” Duncan muses, “it embodies the style of Twilight Zone perfectly, which is often claustrophobic, mysterious and unnerving. Like Architect, The Midnight Sun was recorded and produced entirely by C Duncan in his Glasgow flat, using his bedroom studio set-up and gradually adding each layer and each instrument one at a time. Though time-consuming, the process allowed him to lovingly assemble an intricate and subtle collection of songs that pick up where Duncan began with Architect and move toward a cleaner and more precise vision of the Scottish songwriter’s vision. Duncan has heralded the new album as his “most coherent and concise work, sonically.”

The album’s artwork, a painting of a dimly lit staircase, is also a piece by C Duncan, who also happens to be a skilled painter. “This being another album made from home, I wanted the artwork to parallel that.” elaborates the artist. “The paintings I have done for it are of interiors – the stairwell outside my flat to be precise. I spend a lot of time out there thinking about music, and I wanted there to be a very personal element to the artwork.”

The Midnight Sun is decidedly personal, a testament to why he’s been so lavished with praise in his home country and now, on the precipice of this new release, its clear that Duncan will charm the rest of the world as well. [via Bandcamp]

Cover Art:

Artist: C Duncan
Title of Album: The Midnight Sun
Release Date: October 02, 2016
Label: FatCat Records

1 Nothing More
2 Like You Do
3 Other Side
4 Wanted To Want It Too
5 Who Lost
6 On Course
7 Last To Leave
8 Do I Hear?
9 The Midnight Sun
10 Jupiter
11 Window

Upcoming Tour Dates:
20 Oct // Institute of Contemporary Arts (ICA) // London, UK
24 – 29 Oct // DDW Festival 2016 // Eindhoven, Netherlands
26 Oct // Le Grand Mix 2016 Tourcoing, France
27 Oct // La Lune des Pirates 2016 Amiens, France
27 – 29 Oct // Pitchfork Music Festival Paris 2016 // Paris, France
29 Oct // Chapelle Saint-Jacques // Vendôme, France
31 Oct // Hafenkneipe // Zürich, Switzerland
02 Nov // Grüner Salon // Berlin, Germany
03 Nov // Turmzimmer, Uebel & Gefährlich // Hamburg, Germany

Follow ‘C Duncan’ on:
Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud | Bandcamp


More Follow ‘C Duncan’ on Music Pickings:
2015, Oct 20 –  Listen: Architect
Feb 17 – New Single: Say (2015/02/16)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s