Month: December 2015

New Mixtape: Erykah Badu – But You Cain’t Use My Phone / New Track ‘Hello feat. Andre 3000’

:: Exciting times!


Cover Art:
Erykah Badu

Artist: Erykah Badu
Title of Mixtape: But You Cain’t Use My Phone
 Release Date: November 27, 2015

1. Caint Use My Phone Suite
2. Hi
3. Cell U Lar Device
4. Phone Down
5. U Use To Call Me
6. Mr. Telephone Man
7. U Don’t Have To Call
8. Whats Yo Phone Number
9. Dial’afreaq
10. I’ll Call U Back
11. Hello feat. Andre 3000

Follow ‘Erykah Badu’ on:
Facebook | Twitter


More ‘Erykah Badu’ on Music Pickings:
2015, Oct 09 – Listen: Hotline Bling But U Can’t Use My Phone



Listen: Cassian – Feel It

:: Feelin’ it!


Cover Art:
Cassian – Feel It

Artist: Cassian
Title of Single: Feel It
Release Date: October 23, 2015
Label: Sweat It Out

Follow ‘Cassian’ on:
Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud


New Album: RÜFÜS // RÜFÜS DU SOL – Bloom (2016/01/22) / New Track ‘Like An Animal’

:: Great tune!


Cover Art:
RÜFÜS - Bloom

Artist: RÜFÜS
Title of Album: Bloom
Release Date: January 22, 2016
Label: Electric Sparklers

1 Brighter
2 Like an Animal
3 Say a Prayer for Me
4 You Were Right
5 Be with You
6 Daylight
7 Hypnotised
8 Tell Me
9 Until the Sun Needs to Rise
10 Lose My Head
11 Innerbloom

Follow ” on:
Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud


New Album: Archy Marshall – A New Place 2 Drown (2015/12/10)

:: Fantastic!


A New Place 2 Drown showcases the poetry and artwork of brothers Jack & Archy Marshall.

The book shows the creative process the brothers share as well as their social and home lives in South London. An accompanying soundtrack by Archy Marshall will be available 10th December 2015.

The book is now available to buy from and features unseen artwork, photography and poetry from the brothers.

Cover Art:

Artist: Archy Marshall
Title of Album: A New Place 2 Drown
Release Date: December 10, 2016
Label: XL Recordings

1 Any God of Yours
2 Swell
3 Arise Dear Brother
4 Ammi Ammi by Archy Marshall (feat. Jamie Isaac)
5 Buffed Sky
6 Sex With Nobody
7 Eye’s Drift
8 The Sea Liner MK 1
9 Empty Vessels
10 New Builds
11 Dull Boys
12 Thames Water

Follow ‘Archy Marshall’ on:
Official WebsiteFacebook | Twitter


Listen: Sinkane – How We Be

:: Fantasic Album!


Cover Art:

Artist: Sinkane
Title of Album: Mean Love
Release Date: 29 August, 2014
Label: City Slang (Universal Music)

1 How We Be 4:15
2 New Name 3:03
3 Yacha 3:41
4 Young Trouble 3:39
5 Moonstruck 3:03
6 Mean Love 3:38
7 Hold Tight 3:17
8 Galley Boys 3:46
9 Son 3:45
10 Omdurman

Follow ‘Sinkane’ at:
Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud


Listen: iZem – Hafa

:: Wonderful!


Journeyman, DJ, radio presenter, beat raconteur – it’s been hard to keep up with all of iZem‘s movements lately. The innovative Lisbon-based French producer has been hard at work on his debut LP Hafa, exploring the sounds of Latin America and North Africa in a vivid analogue-digital, genre-defying soundscape that is sure to leave your head spinning. Inspired by cultural greats like Jack Kerouac, Paul Bowles, Tahar Ben Jelloun and Matisse, iZem spent time soaking up the atmosphere at the inspiring Café Hafa, an idyllic cliff-top joint overlooking the strait of Gibraltar, in Tangier, Morocco, which has formed a golden backdrop to his debut LP. Brimming with soulful exoticism, personal narratives and adventurous collaborators, Hafa has been an experiment in taking on the afro-centric sounds of his journey to-date by incorporating modern, introspective songwriting and hybrid beats.

Often writing music whilst crossing continents, the only place iZem allows dust to settle is in the heart, heat and rhythms of his local-global future sounds. A decade of nomadism between Spain, Brazil, Argentina, Ireland and Portugal made way for a series of critically acclaimed EP’s and remixes for Soundway, GAMM, Far Out, Agogo, ZZK records, Wah Wah 45s, and Mais Um Discos. Arrival on the global, forward-thinking, artistically leftfield scene was predicted by Gilles Peterson, XLR8R, Okay Player and fellow tropical hed Quantic. iZem is an acronym for “In Ze Early Morning” and his debut album “Hafa” evokes new days dawning in far-off lands and stirring horizons of the present. So if you aren’t hearing iZem’s pastiche of future tropical rhythms and organic grooves on stations such as BBC, KCRW or Funkhaus Europa, then make sure you you catch him raising the dance floor temperature on one continent or another. [Press Release]

Cover Art:

Artist: iZem
Title of Album: Hafa
Release Date: June 03, 2015
Label: iZem

1. Sadeo (feat. Feather) 05:09
2. Water (feat. Segun Akano) 04:04
3. Quiver (remix – feat. Aminah Dastan) 03:46
4. L’Horloge 03:32
5. Agua Viva (feat. Nina Miranda) 03:58
6. Kulalala (feat. Binisa Bonner) 04:39
7. Seasons (feat. Aminah Dastan) 03:49
8. Retratos 03:40 9. Belén (feat. Yolanda Reyes) 03:11
10. Wind, Sand and Stars (feat. Eko) 05:07
11. Blue Spotted Tail (feat. Danny Groenland)

Follow ‘iZem’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud | Bandcamp


New Album: Honne – Gone are the Days (2016/01/22)

:: Love it!


Cover Art:

Artist: Honne
Title of Album: Gone are the Days
Release Date: January 22, 2016
Label: Tatemae Recordings

1. Gone Are The Days
2. 3:00 AM
3. No Place Like Home (feat. Jones)
4. Baby Please
5. The Night (Late Night Mix)
6. I Can Give You Heaven (Late Night Mix)
7. Gone Are The Days (SOHN Remix)

Upcoming Tour Dates 2016:
Jan 13-16 // Eurosonic Noorderslag Festival, 2016 // Groningen, Netherlands
Mar 03 // Electric Brixton // London, UK
Mar 11 // The Bowery Ballroom // New York, NY, US
Mar 12 // The Garrison // Toronto, ON, Canada
Mar 14 // Schubas // Chicago, IL, US
Mar 22 // Rickshaw Stop // San Francisco, CA, US
Mar 23 // Troubadour // West Hollywood, CA, US

Follow ‘Honne’ on:
Official WebsiteFacebook | Twitter | SoundCloud


More ‘Honne’ on Music Pickings:
2015, Mar 22 – New EP: Coastal Love (2015/05/04) / Track ‘All In The Value’ [Free Download]