New Album: Scott Matthew – This Here Defeat (2015/03/20) / New Single ‘Skyline’ [Official Video]

:: Fascinating, quiet and emotional songs…

Scott Matthew, the Australian alternative singer/songwriter who has made Brooklyn, New York his home is back with this fifth studio album. This Here Defeat is the follow-up to 2013’s Unlearned and it’s available now.

This Here Defeat dropped officially yesterday (March 20, 2015) via Glitterhouse Records. The set of ten new Matthew songs is available as download, CD and LP (+CD). You can buy digitally from iTunes or order your physical copy of This here Defeat from Amazon or JPC.

The set is produced by Jürgen Stark. Matthew had invited his friend and guitarist from Germany to his Brooklyn home to work with him on demos he had recorded over the previous two years. They locked themselves for two weeks in Scott’s apartment. Afterwards, it was crystal clear that the LP was going to be made and that Stark was going to be the producer. This Here Defeat was then recorded in Lisbon, Portugal, within six days together with Eugene Lemcio on piano/bass and Sam Taylor on cello.

In a label press release, Scott comments on his new effort: “I’m very, very proud of the album and I think I’m most proud about it, because I didn’t think it would happen. Only a few months before we recorded it, I thought I would probably never make a new album. I had a time in my life, not too long ago, where I didn’t want to be the sad guy anymore. I just had my heart broken yet again, and was wondering: Do I really want to be the guy that will use music as a catalyst for the heartbreak he experienced in his life? I went on tour during this time, and literally lost my voice – I couldn’t sing anymore. When I look back at the time, it was like hell, and yet it was like divine intervention. As though something was coming down saying: Okay, you don’t want to do this anymore, so I’ll take it away from you. Only then did I understand, how much I love what I do.”

The official Video for second single Skyline is directed by Michael Shannon with cinematography and editing by Vincent Cross and Michael Wells – watch and listen above. Ruined Heart was the first single taken from This Here Defeat. The video is directed by Khavn de la Cruz who also co-wrote the music for the song. Scott Matthew is extensively touring Europe for the next six weeks, check out the upcoming dates below.

Cover Art:
Scott Matthew - This Here Defeat (2015)

Tracklist:
01. Effigy
02. Skyline
03. Constant
04. Soul To Save
05. Ruined Heart
06. This Here Defeat
07. Bittersweet
08. Here We Go Again
09. Ode
10. Palace Of Tears

Upcoming Tour Dates:
Mon 23 Mar 2015 // Berlin, Germany // Bar Jeder Vernunft [Record Release, Sold Out]
Sun 29 Mar 2015 // Paris, France // Le Batofar
Sat 04 Apr 2015 // Nürnberg, Germany // Künstlerhaus
Sun 05 Apr 2015 // Leipzig, Germany // UT Connewitz
Mon 06 Apr 2015 // Potsdam, Germany // Waschhaus
Tue 07 Apr 2015 // Dresden, Germany // Schauburg
>> The full touring schedule is available here.

Follow ‘Scott Matthew’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Soundcloud

//

More ‘Scott Matthew’ on Music Pickings:
2011, Nov 24 − Buried Alive / New Album “Gallantry’s Favorite Son”

Leave a Reply

