New Album: The Staves – If I Was (2015/03/23) [prod. Justin Vernon] [Full Album Stream]

:: Most artists struggle with their sophomore LP. Not so the Stavely-Taylor sisters. They return with a second LP of songs so self-assured and captivating – a masterpiece!

If I Was drops officially in the UK/Europe on March 23, 2015 via . Germany can get its hands on the LP already on March 20 while North America sees release of If I Was on March 31. The LP will be available as download, CD and 12″ vinyl LP. You can buy digitally from iTunes or order your physical copy of If I Was from The Staves’ website/Amazon.

The set of twelve incredibly beautiful songs is produced by Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon and was recorded at his Eau Claire, Wisconsin April Base studios. You can now listen to the entire album as it’s streaming in full over at NME. Don’t hesitate and check it out now! In the feature, Vernon comments on working with the sisters:

It’s the way a record about deep things needs to happen: over a period of time, in a singular place, with enough time to reflect on themselves and express. I’ve made a lot of records now in my life and I have to say, making this one with them altered and changed me.

Listen above to the album songs Blood I Bled – previously featured an the also Vernon-produced EP of the same title – Steady, Black & White and my absolute album favourite Make It Holy. The perfect music video for Black & White is directed by Jack Whitely and produced by Ellie Fry for Rattling Stick – check it out below. The Staves are touring Europe in April and May. Check out the upcoming dates below and watch the IF I Was album documentary feature.

Cover Art:
The Staves - If I Was (2015)

Tracklist:
01. Blood I Bled
02. Steady
03. No Me, No You, No More
04. Let Me Down
05. Black & White
06. Damn It All
07. The Shining
08. Don’t You Call Me Anymore
09. Horizons
10. Teeth White
11. Make It Holy
12. Sadness Don’t Own Me


Upcoming Tour Dates:
Mon 23 – Tue 24 Mar 2015 // London, UK // Wilton’s Music Hall [both Sold Out]
Thu 09 Apr 2015 // Nijmwegen, Netherlands // Doornroosje
Fri 10 Apr 2015 // Amsterdam, Netherlands // Melkweg
Sat 11 Apr 2015 // Rotterdam, Netherlands // Motel Mozaique
Tue 14 Apr 2015 // Oslo, Norway // Parkteatret
Wed 15 Apr 2015 // Stockholm, Sweden // Debaser
>> The full touring schedule is available here.

Follow ‘The Staves’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Youtube | Instagram

//

More ‘The Staves’ on Music Pickings:
2014, Oct 24 − New EP: Blood I Bled (2014/10/24) / New Track ‘Open’ / New Video for ‘Blood I Bled’
2012, Nov 13 − Tongue Behind My Teeth [Official Video] / Debut Album ‘Dead & Born & Grown’ (2012/11/12)

Leave a Reply

