Month: December 2014

Listen: Melanie De Biasio – I’m Gonna Leave You / New EP ‘No Deal’ (2014/12/16)

:: I am speechless… this version of ‘I’m Gonna Leave You’ by Nina Simone knocks me out!

Cover Art:

Artist: Melanie De Biasio
Title of EP: No Deal
Release Date: December 16, 2014
Label: Play It Again Sam

1 I Feel You
2 The Flow
3 No Deal
4 With Love
5 Sweet Darling Pain
6 I’m Gonna Leave You
7 With All My Love

Upcoming Tour Dates:
Jan 14 // Eurosonic Noorderslag 2015 // Groningen, Netherlands
Jan 15 // De Kortrijkse Schouwburg // Kortrijk, Belgium
Jan 17 // KOKO – Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide Awards // London, United Kingdom
Jan 30 // Cultuurcentrum // Hasselt, Belgium
Feb 06 // De Spil // Roeselare, Belgium

Follow ‘Melanie De Biasio’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter



Debut Single: Lazy Daze – Harlow [Free Download]

:: The sun’s shining in this music!


Lazy Daze are Dylan Francis, Jordy Hein, Dan Smith, Lochie Smith and James Brown from Adelaide. They’re newcomers to the music scene of the South Australian city and have just released their excellent debut single Harlow – take a listen above.

Harlow premiered on November 28, 2014 over at You can download the track completely for free from the band’s Soundcloud. The song is the first taste to Lazy Daze’s debut EP Cosmic Yellow which is to follow later in 2015.

Cover Art:
Lazy Daze - Harlow (2014)

Follow ‘Lazy Daze’ on:
Facebook | Soundcloud

New Single: Shlohmo – Emerge from Smoke

:: Shlohmo does it again!

Cover Art:

Artist: Shlohmo
Title of Single: Emerge from Smoke
Release Date: December 08, 2014
Label: True Panther / WeDidIt

Follow ‘Shlohmo’ on:
Official WebsiteFacebookTwitterSoundcloud


More ‘Shlohmo’ on Music Pickings:
2013, Mar 04 – New EP: Laid Out (2013/03/04)
2012, April 12 – Lianne La Havas – Forget (Shlohmo Remix)
2012, Feburary 09 – Vacation [Free Download: Seriously-live-mix]
2011, Dec 08 – Couch (Soosh Remix) [Official Video]
2011, Oct 17 – Places / – Ghost


New Single: Punch Brothers – Julep (2014/12/03)

:: Totally in love with this song!

Punch Brothers are New Yorkers Chris Thile [mandolin], Chris Eldridge [guitar], Paul Kowert [bass], Noam Pikelny [banjo] and Gabe Witcher [fiddle/violin]. In a few weeks, the bluegrass/classical/folk quintet returns with their fourth studio album The Phosphorescent Blues, the follow-up to 2012’s Who’s Feeling Young Now. The T Bone Burnett-produced album was announced in mid November, and now you can listen to Julep – another new song from the album.

The Phosphorescent Blues drops officially in North America on January 27, 2014. Europe sees release on January 26, Germany on January 23. The album will be available as digital download and CD at first, release on double 12″ vinyl follows on February 24. You can pre-order your copy of The Phosphorescent Blues digitally from iTunes or physically from the band’s store. Julep is available to buy as digital single on iTunes and you will also receive the wonderful track and previous single I Blew It Off as immediate download upon digital pre-order.

Punch Brothers are playing three UK and a Dublin show in January before they head out for touring North America from February to April. Check out the upcoming dates below and listen to I Blew It Off.

Punch Brothers (photo credit by Brantley Gutierrez):
Punch Brothers (2014)

Upcoming Tour Dates:
Wed 21 Jan 20145 // Dublin, Ireland // National Concert Hall
Thu 22 Jan 2015 // London, UK // Queen Elizabeth Hall (w/ Sarah Jarosz)
Fri 23 Jan 2015 // Glasgow, UK // Celtic Connections – Royal Concert Hall
Sun 25 Jan 2015 // London, UK // Queen Elizabeth Hall (w/ Sarah Jarosz)
Fri 20 – Sat 21 Feb 2015 // Washington, DC, USA // 9:30 Club (w/ Gaby Moreno)
Tue 24 Feb 2015 // Asheville, NC, USA // Thomas Wolfe Auditorium (w/ Gaby Moreno)
>> The full touring schedule is available here.

Follow ‘Punch Brothers’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Youtube | Instagram

New Track: The Weeknd – Earned It (2014/12/23) [Fifty Shades Of Grey Soundtrack]

:: Listen to The Weeknd’s newest offering


Earned It is a new song that the Canadian Abel Tesfaye recorded for the “Fifty Shades of Grey” soundtrack.

Cover Art:

Artist: The Weeknd
Title of Track: Earned It
Release Date: December 23, 2014
Label: Universal Studios

Follow ‘The Weeknd’ on:
Official WebsiteFacebookTwitterSoundcloud


More ‘The Weeknd’ on Music Pickings:
2014, Aug 29 – New Track: King Of The Fall [Free Download]
2013, May 20 – New Songs: Kiss Land / – John Carpenter
2012, Oct 27 – Enemy / New Album ‘Triology’ (2012/11/13)
2012, 14 Jan – Next
2011, 12 Dec – What You Need / Mixtape “Echoes of Silence”
2011, 22 Dec – Mixtape “Echoes of Silence” [FREE Download]


The Lukewarm – With You / New EP ‘The Lukewarm’ (2014/12/22) [Full EP Stream]

:: Treat your ears with this!


The Lukewarm are Caleb Campbell [lead vocals/bass], James Connelly [guitar], Noah Beal [drums] and Lars Gardner [keys]. The alternative rock four-piece from Tulsa, Oklahoma have released their self-titled first EP a few days ago which is worth checking out.

The Lukewarm was self-released on December 22, 2014. You can buy the EP of five tracks as digital download in any possible format from The Lukewarm’s Bandcamp.

I picked my favourite track With You for a separate listen, check it out above. If you’re like what you’re hearing, take a listen to the whole thing: the entire EP is streaming below (via Bandcamp).

Cover Art:
The Lukewarm - The Lukewarm (2014)


01. Gone
02. Blue Dreams
03. With You
04. All The Time
05. LEM

Follow ‘The Lukewarm’ on:
BandcampFacebook | Twitter | SoundcloudInstagram

Read more:

New Song: N.E.R.D. – Squeeze Me (2015/01/05)

:: Spongebob

The linup: Pharrell Williams, Shay Haley and Chad Hugo

Hugo discussed the song in an interview with Variety: “We’re trying not to think too much in a cartoon sense, but more just like a psychedelic, otherworldy type of thing. If you want to draw a parallel, maybe think of what the Beatles did with Yellow Submarine.”

Cover Art:

Artist: N.E.R.D.
Title of Song: Squeeze Me Read
Release Date: January 05, 2015

Follow ‘N.E.R.D.’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter