New: Ásgeir – It Will Rain / ‘In The Silence’ Deluxe Edition (2014/11/24) / ‘King and Cross’ [Electric Piano Version]

:: So so beautiful!


In The Silence Deluxe Edition is officially released today (November 24, 2014) via One Little Indian Records. The album is available as Triple Pack CD and digital download. You can buy digitally from iTunes and Google Play or order your physical copy directly from One Little Indian.

The 3 CD ‘Deluxe Edition’ comprises the original 2012 Icelandic version of the album, Dyrd í dauðathogn – the most succesfull album by an Icelandic artist of all times which instantly made Ásgeir a folk hero back home – plus the English-language version, In The Silence, translated by singer/songwriter John Grant who currently lives in Iceland. The third CD compiles rarities and previously unheard Ásgeir material including remixes from Liam Howe (FKA Twigs, Lana Del Ray, Foxes), Dot Major (London Grammar) and Stay Positive as well as three versions from Ásgeir’s Toe Rag Sessions.

It Will Rain is taken from the third disc of the Deluxe Edition, listen above. Two weeks ago, So So Gay premiered the stunning electric piano version of Ásgeir’s international debut single King and Cross. This quiet new version was recorded and filmed at Studio Hljóðriti in September 2014. The video was shot by Ívar Kristján Ívarsson and is edited by Guðm. Kristinn Jónsson, watch it below. The feature So So Gay did with Ásgeir is also well worth a read.

Ásgeir is currently touring Europe with two more UK and nine Scandinavian shows to follow the next weeks. Afterwards he’ll by playing a string of five Australian and two shows in Japan in January and is touring North America all February. Check out the upcoming dates below.

Cover Art:
Ásgeir - In The Silence Deluxe Edition (2014)

Disc One: Dýrð í dauðaþögn
01. Hærra
02. Dýrð í dauðaþögn
03. Sumargestur
04. Leyndarmál
05. Hljóða nótt
06. Nýfallið regn
07. Heimförin
08. Að grafa sig í fönn
09. Samhljómur
10. Þennan Dag

Disc Two: ‘In The Silence’
01. Higher
02. In The Silence
03. Summer Guest
04. King and Cross
05. Was There Nothing
06. Torrent
07. Going Home
08. Head In The Snow
09. In Harmony
10. On That Day

Disc Three: Bonus Disc
01. Dreaming
02. Ocean
03. It Will Rain
04. Stormurinn
05. Frost
06. Soothe This Pain
07. Nú hann blæs
08. Heart Shaped Box
09. Torrent (acoustic)
10. Going Home (Toe Rag)
11. Summer Guest (Toe Rag)
12. On That Day (Toe Rag)
13. King and Cross (Dot Major)
14. Torrent (Stay Positive)
15. King and Cross (Liam Howe)

Upcoming Tour Dates:
Tue 25 Nov 2014 // Bristol, UK // The Fleece
Wed 26 Nov 2014 // London, UK // O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
Sat 29 Nov 2014 // Lund, Sweden // Mejeriet
Sun 30 Nov 2014 // Stockholm, Sweden // Nalen
Tue 02 Dec 2014 // Trondheim, Norway / Byscenen
Wed 03 Dec 2014 // Bodø, Norway // Sinus
>> The full touring schedule is available here.

Follow ‘Ásgeir’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

Read more:
So So Gay − Exclusive: Ásgeir – King and Cross [Electric Piano]


More ‘Ásgeir’ on Music Pickings:
2014, Apr 20 − New Single: Here it Comes (2014/04/19)
2014, Jan 23 – Debut Album: In The Silence (2014/01/27) [Full Album Stream]
2013, Nov 14 − New Single: Torrent [Video Portrait] (2013/12/16)
2013, Aug 08 − Debut Single: King and Cross [Official Video] (2013/08/12)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s