New Album: Röyksopp – The Inevitable End (2014/11/21) [Full Album Stream]

:: Not totally convincing, but with some very enjoyable tracks on it!


The Inevitable End was officially released on November 11, 2014 via Cherrytree Records/Interscope Records. Germany, Austria and Switzerland see release of The Inevitable End today (November 21) via Embassy of Music/Warner Music. The album is available as digital download, CD and 2×12 vinyl LP. Physical release includes download of the full 17-track album. You can buy/order your copy of The Inevitable End in all versions here.

Röyksopp’s supposedly last release in the album format is streaming in its entirety over at Noisey and Spotify. The LP features collaborations with Swedish pop icon Robyn, Ryan James of Man Without Country and Norwegian singer/songwriter Susanne Sundfør. Jamie McDermott of the Irrepressibles lends his breathtaking vocals to five tracks on the album, each of which being a glamorous little gem of a pop song. The Inevitable End features previous single Running To The Sea (feat. Sundfør) and its marvellous b-side Something In My Heart (feat. McDermott).

On their Youtube, Torbjørn Brundtland and Svein Berge commented on the album: “We feel like this is a goodbye to the traditional album format. In our consecutive run of albums, we have been able to say what we want to say and do what we want to do with the LP. We’re not going to stop making music, but the album format as such, this is the last thing from us…

Thank You is the melancholic album closing track, listen above. Monument has been previously featured on Röyksopp’s and Robyn’s collaborative EP Do It Again which was released last May. A new version of the song is also featured on The Inevitable End. The music video for the song is directed by Stian Andersen and was shot on Röyksopp & Robyn’s Do It Again Tour through 2014, watch it below.

Cover Art:
Röyksopp - The Inevitable End (2014)

01. Skulls
02. Monument ft. Robyn (T.I.E. Version)
03. Sordid Affair  ft. Ryan James
04. You Know I Have To Go ft. Jamie McDermott
05. Save Me ft. Susanne Sundfør
06. I Had This Thing ft. Jamie McDermott
07. Rong ft. Robyn
08. Here She Comes Again ft. Jamie McDermott
09. Running to the Sea ft. Susanne Sundfør
10. Compulsion ft. Jamie McDermott
11. Coup de Grace
12. Thank You
13. Do It Again (RYXP Version) [Digital Edition]
14. Goodnite Mr. Sweetheart [Digital Edition]
15. Caramel Afternoon [Digital Edition]
16. Oh No [Digital Edition]
17. Something In My Heart ft. Jamie McDermott [Digital Edition]

Follow ‘Röyksopp’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Youtube

Read more:
PopMatters − Röyksopp: The Inevitable End 


More ‘Röyksopp’ on Music Pickings:
2014, May 25 − New Album: Röyksopp & Robyn – Do It Again (2014/05/26)
2013, Dec 07 − Something In My Heart (feat. Jamie Irrepressible)
2013, Nov 09 − New Single: Running To The Sea (2013/12/16)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s