Month: November 2014

New Track: Turtle – Lavender

:: Happy sunday!


Lavender’ taken from Turtle’s second EP Colours released early spring 2015 on Beatnik Creative.

Cover Art:

Artist: Turtle
Title of Track: Lavender
Release Date:

Follow ‘Turtle’ on:
Facebook | Soundcloud


More ‘Turtle’ on Music Pickings:
2013, Dec 10 – New EP: Who Knows [Full Album Stream]



Debut EP: Halcyon Drive – Cruel Kids (2014/11/21) [Full EP Stream] / New Track ‘Cruesoe’

:: Fantastic debut release by Halcyon Drive!


Back in July, I posted Apart – a marvellous, quiet song by Melbourne duo Halcyon Drive. It wasn’t officially released but only available for streaming online, and I promised to update my post when it becomes available. Now. Halcyon Drive have released Apart together with four new songs in their debut EP Cruel Kids and you can also listen to the whole thing!

Cruel Kids dropped officially on November 21, 2014 as self-release. You can buy the EP in all possible digital formats from Halcyon Drive’s Bandcamp.

Take a listen to the entire EP above (via Bandcamp). All songs are written byMichael Oechsle and Max Pamieta of Halcyon Drive. Cruel Kids is produced, recorded and mixed by Steven Schram, the EP was recorded at Soundpark Studios in Northcote, Australia.

Cover Art:
Halcyon Drive - Cruel Kids EP (2014)

01. Crusoe
02. Blisters
03. Whitewash
04. Thieves
05. Apart

Follow ‘Halcyon Drive’ on:
Tumblr | BandcampFacebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Youtube


More ‘Halcyon Drive’ on Music Pickings:
2014, Jul 14 − New Single: Halcyon Drive – Apart 

Debut Album: Mikky Ekko – Time (2015/01/20) / New Single ‘Smile’

:: Smileeeeeeeeeeeeee


Cover Art:

Artist: Mikky Ekko
Title of Debut Album: Time
Release Date: Januar 20, 2014
Label: RCA Records

1. Watch Me Rise
2. Smile
3. Love You Crazy
4. U
5. Time
6. Riot
7. Mourning Doves
8. Burning Doves
9. Comatose
10. Pull Me Down
11. Made of Light
12. Loner


Upcoming Tour Dates:
11/29 Chicago, IL – Schubas ^
11/30 Columbus, OH – A&R Bar ^
12/02 Pittsburgh, PA – Club AE ^
12/05 Atlanta, GA – Masquerade Purgatory ^
12/06 Nashville, TN – Marathon ^
12/08 St. Louis, MO – Firebird ^
12/09 Kansas City, MO – Record Bar ^
12/12 Portland, OR – Star ^
12/13 Seattle, WA – Crocodile ^
12/16 San Francisco, CA – Rickshaw Stop ^
12/18 Denver, CO – Larimer Lounge ^
12/20 Minneapolis, MN – 7th Street Entry ^
* with Alt-J
^ with HAERTS

Follow ‘Mikky Ekko’ on:
Official Website | FacebookTwitter | Soundcloud

More ‘Mikky Ekko’ on Music Pickings:
2013, Feb 14 – Pull Me Down (The Internet Remix)
2012, Dec 18 – New Single: Mikky Ekko – Pull Me Down


New EP: Daniel Wilson – Boy Who Cried Thunder (2014/11/24) / New Track ‘If You Went Away’

:: A totally diverse set of songs, each equally brilliant!


Daniel Wilson has a magic, gospelic voice. Over the past three months, the singer/songwriter from Ypsilanti, Michigan has been teasing his sophomore EP Boy Who Cried Thunder releasing the EP tracks in order of the track list. Now, the EP is finally out and available.

Boy Who Cried Thunder was released on November 24, 2014 via Zap Records. The EP of five tracks is available as digital download and you can buy it from iTunes. Germany saw release on November 21.

If You Went Away is the fourth track shared from Boy Who Cried Thunder, listen above. The three previous singles Killed Ya, Heartbreaker and title track Boy Who Cried Thunder are streaming below, take a listen!

Cover Art:
Daniel Wilson - Boy Who Cried Thunder EP (2014)

01. Killed Ya
02. Heartbreaker
03. Boy Who Cried Thunder
04. If You Went Away
05. Proofread

Follow ‘Daniel Wilson’ on:
Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

Debut Album: Luke Sital-Singh – The Fire Inside

:: Smoothly…


Cover Art:

Artist: Luke Sital-Singh
Title of Debut Album: The Fire Inside
Release Date:September 2014, 2014
Label: Parlophone Label Group

1. Nothing Stays the Same
2. Greatest Lovers
3. Bottled Up Tight
4. 21st Century Heartbeat
5. Lilywhite
6. Nearly Morning
7. I Have Been A Fire
8. Everything Is Making You
9. Fail For You
10. We Don’t Belong
11. Cornerstone
12. Benediction

Follow ‘Luke Sital-Singh’ on:
Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud


More ‘Luke Sital-Singh’ on Music Pickings:
2014, Aug 26 − Debut Album: The Fire Inside (2014/08/18) [Full Album Stream]
2014, Apr 15 − New Single: Greatest Lovers (2014/04/14) [Official Video]
2013, Nov 03 − New EP:Tornados (2013/11/03) [Full EP Stream] / New Video for ‘Nothing Stays The Same’
2013, Apr 15 − Bottled Up Tight [Official Video] / New EP ‘Old Flint’ (2013/04/15)



Debut: Day Wave – Nothing At All (2014/11/12)

:: Fantastic track. Waiting for more.


Nothing It All is the debut song by Day Wave, the project of California-based musician Jackson Phillips. He will release the yet untitled debut EP of Day Wave in early 2015, so keep your eyes peeled for news and more fresh music by this young man soon!

Cover Art:
Day Wave

Follow ‘Day Wave’ on:
Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

Read more:
The Line Of Best Fit − Listen: Day Wave – “Nothing At All” [Premiere]

Varick – We All Know the Rest / Debut EP ‘Boundless’ (2014/11/04) [Full EP Stream]

:: This song is nothing but epic!


Keith Varick is an alternative electro solo artist based in New York who simply goes by his last name on stage. Following his debut single Boundless released last May, he has now put out his debut EP of the same title.

Boundless was self-released digitally on November 04, 2014. You can buy the EP in any possible digital format from Varick’s Bandcamp.

We All Know The Rest is the highly addictive second single from Boundless, listen above. The entire EP is streaming below (via Bandcamp). The set of four tracks is written and co-produced by Keith Varick and was produced, recorded and mixed by David Sisko of Disco Pusher.

Cover Art:
Varick - Boundless EP (2014)

01. It Will Be Done
02. Boundless (Remastered)
03. We’re Animals
04. We All Know The Rest


Follow ‘Varick’ on:
Official Website | Bandcamp | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Youtube | Instagram