New: Mister Lies – High (ft. Harrison Lipton)

:: On repeat!

 

New York City and Vermont-based producer and vocalist Nick Zanca, better known by his Mister Lies moniker, is currently readying his sophomore album Shadows and he has unveiled High, another great new song from it.

High is co-written by and features Zancas friend Harrison Lipton, a New York City composer, producer and vocalist, on backing vocals, hook and atmospheres. On occasion of the song premiere, Mister Lies wrote on his Facebook:

I had spent a majority of the autumn into the winter of 2013 working on this album up at my family’s lake house in Vermont. I was there by myself, devoid of friends in the area; although good ideas came, they were quickly replaced with an overwhelming sense of tunnelvision and claustrophobia. After Christmas, I drove back down to Connecticut and set up my equipment in the basement of the house I grew up in. I wrote the lyrics of this song meditating on the hope that a different set of surroundings would help me finish what I had started.

[…] While skimming through Ableton files on old hard drives, I found a collaborative sketch between him and I scrapped from the Mowgli sessions. It struck a chord that it hadn’t previously and with his input I began rewriting the track until it eventually became this final product; arguably my personal favorite from the album.

Shadows drops officially on October 28, 2014 via Brooklyn’s Orchid Tapes label. The album will be available as digital download, cassette tape and 12″ LP. The vinyl edition is limited to 500 copies of black & royal vinyl pressed together into a single record, you can pre-order your copy here.

Mister Lies (photo by Daniel Dorsa):
Mister Lies (2014)

Follow ‘Mister Lies’ on:
Official Website | BandcampFacebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

