New Album: My Brightest Diamond – This Is My Hand (2014/09/15) [Full Album Stream] / New Music Video for ‘Pressure’

:: A powerful, impressive album. Stongly recommended!

My Brightest Diamond is the project of singer/songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Shara Worden.  Her last album, All Things Will Unwind, is nearly three years old now and time has come for My Brightest Diamond’s fourth LP This Is My Hand. The album release was preceded by the five-track EP None More Than You which dropped July 15.

This Is My Hand is officially released in the UK/Europe tomorrow on September 15, 2014 via Asthmatic Kitty Records. North America sees release of the album on September 16. The set of eleven songs will be available as download, CD and 12″ vinyl LP (standard black/vip edition red/limited edition translucent red). You can buy digitally from Bandcamp (mp3/flac/wav) or order your physical copy of This Is My Hand directly from Asthmatic Kitty.

This Is My Hand is now streaming entirely until release day over at NPR.org/music. Check it out, it’s a rewarding listen!

The album was recorded in Berlin, New York, L.A. and Shara Worden’s re-adopted hometown of Detroit with producer and multi-instrumentalist Zac Rae. On her website, Worden explains what inspired her for This Is My Hand:

The genesis of the new album was looking at the changes that have happened in music over my career, and trying to reevaluate what it meant to me in the first place: ‘what is the value of music’ is essentially the question. In the States, the marching band is something that is done in school, so it still represents something inclusive, something that anyone can learn. I loved the communal quality and the way that drums and horns travel in large three-dimensional spaces.

Pressure is the first single taken from This Is My Hand. The official video for the song is directed by Derrick Belcham and Emily Terndrup, watch it above.

My Brightest Diamond is touring North America in September/early October. She will be playing twelve European shows in October before heading back for another string of North American tour dates in November/December. You can check out the upcoming dates below and listen to the fantastic new single Lover/Killer.

Cover Art:
My Brightest Diamond - This Is My hand (2014)

Tracklist:

01. Pressure
02. Before The Words
03. This Is My Hand
04. Lover Killer
05. I am Not the Bad Guy
06. Looking At The Sun
07. Shape
08. So Easy
09. Resonance
10. Apparition

 

Upcoming Tour Dates:
Fri 19 Sep 2014 // Detroit, MI, USA // The Music Box
Sat 20 Sep 2014 // Toronto, Canada // The Drake
Mon 22 Sep 2014 // Cambridge, MA // The Sinclair
Tue 23 Sep 2014 // Philadelphia, PA // World Cafe Live
Thu 25 Sep 2014 // New York, NY, USA // Bowery Ballroom
Sat 27 Sep 2014 // Washington, DC, USA // Rock & Roll Hotel
>> The full touring schedule is available here.

Follow ‘My Brightest Diamond’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Youtube | Instagram

//

More ‘My Brightest Diamond’ on Music Pickings:
2011, Nov 22 – Be Brave / Album “All Things Will Unwind” Out Now

Leave a Reply

