New Album: Joshua James – Well, Then, I’ll Go To Hell (2013/11/11) / New Song ‘Lives’

:: Absolutely beautiful!


It’s just been a year since Joshua James released his last record, 2012’s From The Top Of Willamette Mountain. The American Fork (Utah) and Lincoln (Nebraska) based neo-folk singer/songwriter has diligently carried on touring and making music, and here we already go with the follow-up.

The fifth album by Joshua James is entitled Well, Then, I’ll Go To Hell and was officially released in the UK and Europe on November 11, 2013 via Intelligent Noise Records. US release followed on November 12. The record is available as digital download and CD (including the download album in selectable format), order your copy via Joshua James’ website.

Well, Then, I’ll Go To Hell is a collection of nine “lovingly curated and recorded” cover versions of original songs by Modest Mouse that have been highly influential on Joshua James as a teenager. He recorded them together with touring partner Evan Coulombe, at different locations. They did one song a week, without prior plan and sometimes with just one take. All instruments are played by Joshua James and Evan Coulombe (except Timothy George played drums on Gravity Rides Everything.)

The album title derives from an indirect quote from The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain. On his Bandcamp, Joshua James concludes the release text for the album with the following words: “People, at different times throughout history, have a notion of what we SHOULD BE, what society SHOULD ACT LIKE, how we should WALK/TALK/EAT/ACT (SING). But, it’s all hogwash. We got 20/50/80 years to live. Just sing something. Write a book. Build a chair. Do what you feel you need to. Because by GOD! Singin’ these songs sure beats the darkness.”

Listen above to Lives, my favourite song off the album. If it gets you wanting more, check out the album sampler below, including Lives and four more of the songs (via the label’s Soundclous).

Cover Art:
Joshua James - Well, Then I'll Go To Hell (2013)

01. Dramamine
02. Broke
03. Sleepwalking
04. Lives
05. Styrofoam Boots
06. Baby Blue Sedan
07. Gravity Rides Everything
08. Out Of Gas
09. Custom Concern


Follow ‘Joshua James’ on:
Official homepage | Facebook | Twitter


More ‘Joshua James’ on Music Pickings:
2012, Nov 11 − So Did I / New Album ‘From The Top Of Willamette Mountain’ (2012/11/06)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s