Month: November 2011

New Album: Amy Winehouse – Lioness: Hidden Treasures

:: Listening to some of her last recorded vocals.

The album comprises 12 tracks including previously unreleased material, alternative versions of existing songs and two new songs.

Cover Art:

Artist: Amy Winehouse
Title Of Album: Lioness: HiddenTreasures
Release Date: December 02, 2011
Label: Island (Universal)

1. “Our Day Will Come
(Reggae Version)” – reggae re-working of classic 60’s doo wop song produced by Salaam Remi. Recorded May 2002.

2. “Between The Cheats” – new Amy composition recorded in London in May 2008 for potential inclusion on album three produced by Salaam Remi.

3. “Tears Dry” – originally written by Amy as a ballad, this is the original version she recorded in November 2005 in Miami with Salaam. The later uptempo version  appears on “Back To Black”.

4. “Wake Up Alone” – the first song recorded for the “Back To Black” sessions. This is the one-take demo recorded in March 2006 by Paul O’Duffy.

5. “Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow” – Amy’s beautiful reading of the Carole King written Shirelles classic. Produced by Mark Ronson and featuring the Dap Kings with string arrangements by Chris Elliott who did all the strings for Mark’s tracks on “Back To Black”. Recorded in September 2004.

6. “Valerie” – one of Amy’s jukebox favourites. This is the original slower tempo version of the Mark Ronson produced post “Back To Black” single. Recorded in December 2006.

7. “Like Smoke” featuring NAS  – Amy and Nas became really good friends after Amy name checked the New York rapper on “Back To Black’s” “Me & Mr Jones”.  “Like Smoke” is finally Amy doing a song with one of her favourite artists. Produced by Salaam Remi. Recorded in May 2008.

8. “The Girl From Ipanema” – the first song the 18 year old Amy sang when she first went to Miami to record with Salaam. Salaam remarked that “the way she re-interpreted this bossa nova classic made me realise that I was dealing with a very special talent. Her approach to the song was so young and fresh, it really inspired the rest of our sessions.” Recorded in May 2002.

9. “Halftime” Amy had talked to Ahmir ‘Questlove’ Thompson of the Roots about working together. “Halftime” is a song that Amy and Salaam had worked on since the Frank sessions.  The result is beautiful. Recorded in August 2002.

10.Best Friends” – “Frank” era live set opener produced by Salaam Remi. Probably the first song that early Amy fans would have heard live. Recorded in February 2003.

11.  “Body & Soul” with Tony Bennett – cover of 30’s jazz standard with hero Tony Bennett. Recorded at Abbey Road Studios London in March 2011 and produced by Phil Ramone. Amy’s final studio recording.

12. “A Song For You” – heartbreaking and emotional version of the Leon Russell classic made famous by Donny Hathaway. Hathaway was Amy’s all-time favourite artist and the song was recorded in one take, just Amy and her guitar, at her home in London during the spring of 2009 as she battled her demons. Produced by Salaam Remi.

Daley – Smoking Gun [Official Video]

:: Daley’s first video from the the ‘Those Who Wait’ mixtape is up… check out ‘Smoking Gun’

More of Daley on Music Pickings:
11 Nov: Daley – Alone Together (Feat. Marsha Ambrosius)

New Album Out Now: Northern Lite – I Like (2011/11/25)

:: They still know how to do it right…

Northern Lite’s new album “I Like” was released November 25, 2011 on UNA Music.

Recommended for having a listen: We Are, Running and the title-track I Like.

“I Like” Cover:

“I Like” Tracklist:
1.   Black Day
2.   We Are
3.   Running
4.   Raise The Dead
5.   One Soul To Sell
6.   5 Minutes
7.   They Say
8.   I Like
9.   Voice
10. Hellborn Man
11. All Alone (Bonus Track Version)
12. War In My Side (Bonus Track Version)

Follow ‘Northern Lite’ on:
Official homepage at:
Facebook at:
Youtube at:


More of ‘Northern Lite’ on Music Pickings:
Oct 20 – Black Day

New Single: Brother and Bones – Hold Me Like The Sun

:: First heard Brother and Bones a couple of days ago on a concert playing the support for Ben Howard, Rich playing nearly all their songs acoustic, and it was hell of amazing!

“Hold Me Like The Sun” was out as single (including one b-side track) November 14, 2011 on Last Step Records.

“Hold Me Like The Sun” Cover:


And here’s another one I really like: “Here Comes The Storm” is the b-side track of the “Don’t Forget To Pray” , the first single release of ‘Brother and Bones’, out February 14, 2011 on Last Step Records.

Follow ‘Brother and Bones’ on:
Official homepage at:
Facebook at:
Twitter at:!/brotherandbones
Soundcloud at:
Youtube at:
Vimeo at:

M83 – New Map

:: Yes, we´re dreaming…

Cover Art:

Artist: M83
Title of Album: Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming
Release Date: October 14, 2011
Label: Naive (Indigo)

Follow ‘M83‘ on:
Official homepage at:
Facebook at:
Soundcloud at:

More of ‘M83’ on Music Pickings:
M83 – Midnight City (Trentemøller Remix)

Metronomy – The Look / – Everything Goes My Way

:: Still lovely, so lovely. Can´t get enough.

Video: The Look

Video: Everything Goes My Way

Cover Art:

Artist: Metronomy
Title Of Album: The English Riviera
Release Date: April 15, 2011
Label: Warner Music International (Warner)

Follow ‘Metronomy’ on:
Official homepage at:
Facebook at:
Twitter at:

Radical Face – Ghost Towns / New Album “The Family Tree Presents The Roots”

:: pure beauty in sound…

This beautiful track was released October 10, 2011 on the new Radical Face album “The Family Tree Presents The Roots”, out on Bear Machine. His second full-length album is the first part of the Family Tree project, a trilogy telling the story of a fictional family trough its generations.

Album Cover:

Album Tracklist:
01. Names
02. A Pound of Flesh
03. Family Portrait
04. Black Eyes
05. Severus and Stone
06. The Moon Is Down
07. Ghost Towns
08. Kin
09. The Dead Waltz
10. Always Gold
11. Mountains
12. All Is Well (It’s Only Blood) [Bonus Track Deluxe Edition]
13. All Is Well (Goodbye, Goodbye) [Bonus Track Deluxe Edition]
14. We’re On Our Way [Bonus Track Deluxe Edition]

Download the bonus tracks (The Bastards: Volume One EP) on the official website (you gotta scroll down a bit).

Upcoming Concerts:
Tue 24 January 2012 / London, United Kingdom / The Lexington
Thu 26 January 2012 / Vannes, France / Echonova
Fri 27 January 2012 / Paris, France / Mo’ Fo
Sat 28 January 2012 / Cognac, France / West Rock
Sun 29 January 2012 / La Roche Sur Yon, France / Fuzz Yon
Tue 31 January 2012 / London, United Kingdom / Abclub
Wed 01 January 2012 / Amsterdam, Netherlands / Bitterzoet
Thu 02 February 2012 / Groningen, Netherlands / Vera Groningen
Fri 03 February 2012 / Hamburg, Germany / Prinzenbar
Sat 04 February 2012 / Berlin, Germany / Roter Salon (Volksbühne)
Sun 05 February 2012 / Cologne, Germany / Studio 672
Tue 07 February 2012 / Munich, Germany / The Atomic Café
Wed 08 February 2012 / Yverdons-Les-Bains, Switzerland / Amalgame
Thu 09 February 2012 / Baden, Switzerland, One In A Million Festival

Follow ‘Radical Face’ on:
Official homepage at:
Facebook at:
Myspace at:
Soundcloud at:

Read more:
Sputnikmusic – Radical Face – The Family Tree: The Roots Review (Page)
The Correspondence (Tumblr) – A Radical Interview with Radical Face (Blog)