New Album: Twin Shadow – Eclipse (2015/03/17) / New Video ‘Turn Me Up’

:: George Lewis Jr.’s third studio album ‘Eclipse’ arrives in March.


“Towards the end of the recording of the third Twin Shadow album I came into a strong feeling,” George Lewis Jr. wrote in a press release, “a place of creative change from which I’d like to give you an uncompromised experience at every turn. In order to push in the right direction I had to put the brakes on the tour, the planned album release, and reconsider where Twin Shadow was headed. With a bit of perspective I came to realize that I was going to need help to pull off the vision for this next album.

He continued, “I’m excited to announce that I’ve found a group of like minded people at Warner Bros. Records to help me accomplish this goal. In the interest of progress and adventure I look forward to the new relationship (and hopefully a coffee with Prince).” [Press release]

Eclipse Tour 2015 - Twin Shadow

Artist: Twin Shadow
Title of Album: Eclipse
Release Date: March 17, 2015
Label: Warner Bros. Records

Upcoming Tour Dates:
Mar 18-21 // Austin, TX // SXSW
Mar23 // Houston, TX // Fitzgerald’s
Mar 24 // New Orleans, LA // Republic
Mar 26 // Jacksonville Beach, FL // Freebird
Mar 27 // Atlanta, GA // Terminal West
Mar 28 // Carrboro, NC // Cat’s Cradle
Mar 30 // Washington, DC // Black Cat
Apr 01 // Brooklyn, NY // Music Hall of Williamsburg
>> The full touring schedule is available here

Follow ‘Twin Shadow’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter


New Single: Champs – Desire (2014/11/17)

:: Really can’t wait for this album!


Champs – Isle of Wight born and based brothers Michael and David Champion – will release their sophomore album Vamala early next year. The album announcement came along with the release of the album’s mesmerizing new single Desire – take a listen above.

Desire was released on November 17, the single is available as digital download from iTunes. Champs will be touring Europe next March with a string of thirteen headline shows, check out the dates below.

Vamala drops on February 23, 2015 via Play It Again Sam. The LP of twelve tracks will be available as digital download, CD and 12″ vinyl LP. You can pre-order your copy in all versions directly from Champs website. You’ll also receive Desire as immediate download upon digital pre-order. Vamala is the follow-up to Champs brilliant 2013 debut album Down Like Gold.

Champs (2014)

Upcoming Tour Dates:
Tue 03 Mar 2015 // Brussels, Belgium // AB Club
Wed 04 Mar 2015 // Paris, France // La Boule Noire
Thu 05 Mar 2015 // Hamburg, Germany // Molotow Club
Sun 08 Mar 2015 // Cologne, Germany // Blue Shell
Mon 09 Mar 2015 // Amsterdam, Netherlands // Paradiso (Upstairs)
Tue 10 Mar 2015 // Rotterdam, Netherlands // Rotown
>> The full touring schedule is available here.

Follow ‘Champs’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Youtube | Instagram


More ‘Champs’ on Music Pickings:
2014, Mar 10 − Debut Album: Down Like Gold (2014/03/10) [Full Album Stream] / New Single ‘St. Peter’s’ [Official Video]


Listen: Josef Salvat – Diamonds / EP ‘In Your Prime’ [Full Album Stream]

:: Excellent cover version of ‘Diamonds’ by Rihanna!


Cover Art:

Artist: Josef Salvat
Title of EP: Diamonds
Release Date: September 22, 2014
Label: Sony Music

1 Open Season
2 This Life
3 Shoot and Run
4 Diamonds


Follow ‘Josef Salvat’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud



New EP: Ed Prosek – The Riverbed (2014/11/17) [Full EP Stream]

:: Totally missed the release of Ed’s new EP because I was on vacation in Norway. Just stumbled over it yesterday, better late then never I guess. 


I’ve been a big a fan of Brighton-based California boy Ed Prosek ever since I first heard his debut EP California two years ago. Some weeks ago, the indie-folk singer/songwriter released his third EP The Riverbed, to follow-up to last year’s fantastic five-track EP Willow Tree.

The Riverbed was self-released on November 17, 2014. The EP is available as digital download only, you can get your copy from iTunes. The set of six tracks includes previous single Hold On Tight and its fantastic bside Let Me Know – my favourite track off The Riverbed – as well as four new songs.

The EP is still streaming in its entirety over at The Line Of Best Fit where Ed also gave a track-by-track guide to the EP songs which worth a read. Above, you can listen to the EP track Home.

Cover Art:
Ed Prosek - The Riverbed (2014)

01. Hold On Tight
02. Home
03. Michigan
04. Pictures
05. Let Me Know
06. Weak Heart

Follow ‘Ed Prosek’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Youtube


More ‘Ed Prosek’ on Music Pickings:
2014, Oct 09 − New Single: Hold On Tight (2014/10/05) [Official Video]

New Song: Thundercat – Them Changes

:: I think he’s an amazing player – Thundercat performs “Them Changes” at the Pitchfork Nightcap series in New Orleands at One Eyed Jacks.


Artist: Thundercat
Title of Song: Them Changes
Release Date: November 1, 2014
Label: unreleased track

Upcoming Tour Dates:
27 Dec // Cervantes’ Masterpiece Ballroom // Denver

Follow ‘Thundercat’ on:


More ‘Thundercat’ on Music Pickings:
2013, May 23 – New Single: Oh Sheit It’s X
2013, Apr 19 – New Single: Heartbreaks + Setbacks / New Album ‘Apocalypse’ (2013/06/08) 
2011, Aug 17 – The Golden Age of Apocalypse


New Single: Citizens! – Lighten Up (2014/12/01) [Official Video]

:: Fantastic, Citizens! are back.

Citizens! are Tom Burke [vocals], Lawrence Diamond [keys], Mike Evans [drums], Martyn Richmond [bass] and Thom Rhoades [guitar]. Their debut album Here We Are was released in 2012, thus far only followed by the Caroline EP the same year. Recording in Liverpool, the London boys are currently readying their sophomore album and have now released Lighten Up, the first singe from the yet untitled LP.

Lighten Up was released on December 01, 2014 via French label Kitsuné Musique / Sony Music. The single is available as digital download only, buy it from iTunes or directly from Kitsuné.

The official video for the song is directed by Focus Creeps, watch it out above. You can also check out the interactive video for Lighten Up on Citizen’s website. The band will be playing Mecca Festival in Brazil in January and has four European tour dates coming up next April. Check out the dates below and listen to the Lighten Up Remixes which were already released  by Kistuné last June.

Cover Art:
Citizens! - Lighten Up (2014)


Upcoming Tour Dates:
Sat 17 Jan 2015 // Capão de Canoa, Brazil // Mecca Festival
Sun 18 Jan 2015 // Rio de Janeiro, Brazil // Mecca Festival
Sat 24 Jan 2015 // São Paolo, Brazil // Mecca Festival
Thu 16 Apr 2015 // London, UK // XOYO
Sat 18 Apr 2015 // Paris, France // La Gaîté Lyrique
Mon 20 Apr 2015 // Berlin, Germany // Privatclub
Tue 21 Apr 2015 // Hamburg, Germany // Molotow

Follow ‘Citizens!’ on:
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Youtube | Instagram


More ‘Citizens!‘ on Music Pickings:
2012, May 11 − Caroline (Official Video) / New EP ‘Caroline’
2012, May 06 − New Single: Citizens! – Reptile / Debut Album ‘Here We Are’
2012, Jan 17 − Citizens! – True Romance [High 5 Collective Version]

New Track: Ady Suleiman – Say So

:: Another great track!


Cover Art:

Artist: Ady Suleiman
Title of Track: Say So
Release Date: November 28, 2014
Label: Pemba

Follow ‘Ady Suleiman’ on: 
Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud


More ‘Ady Suleiman’ on Music Pickings:
2014, Nov 21 – New Track: Ain’t The Beep
2013, Jul 10 – Serious & So Lost